Taxes
  • Treasury Puts a Ribbon on the Estate Tax Reduction

    By Michael Rainey

    Wealthy families got an early Christmas gift from the Trump administration this week, as the U.S. Treasury Department issued a proposed rule that would encourage large, tax-free gifts to heirs. The...

  • Goldman Sachs Sees Sharp Economic Slowdown Ahead

    By Michael Rainey

    Goldman Sachs is sticking to its forecast of a significant economic slowdown over the next several quarters, driven in part by the waning effects from both the tax cuts and the recent increase in...

  • Obama administration proposes new limits on tax-exempt political groups

    New Tax Brackets for 2019

    By The Fiscal Times Staff

    The IRS released its inflation adjustments for the 2019 tax year this week, which include new brackets and limits on deductions and exemptions. A few highlights: The standard deduction for single...

  • Krugman: Why the Tax Cuts Fizzled

    By Michael Rainey

    A long-time critic of Republican fiscal policies, economist Paul Krugman takes on the GOP tax overhaul in Friday’s New York Times, asking, “Why Was Trump’s Tax Cut a Fizzle?” Krugman notes that the...

  • The Economy’s Coming Wile E. Coyote Moment

    By Michael Rainey

    Most economists think that the “sugar high” in the economy produced by simultaneous tax cuts and federal spending increases this year will fizzle at some in the next few quarters, at which point GDP...

Taxes Directory

Tags
Monday, December 11, 2017 - 4:06pm
Monday, December 11, 2017 - 4:00pm
Monday, December 11, 2017 - 4:00pm
Friday, December 8, 2017 - 4:05pm
Friday, December 8, 2017 - 2:48pm
Thursday, December 7, 2017 - 4:25pm
Thursday, December 7, 2017 - 3:31pm
Wednesday, December 6, 2017 - 4:15pm
Monday, December 4, 2017 - 4:12pm
Thursday, November 30, 2017 - 2:45pm
Wednesday, November 29, 2017 - 3:15pm
Tuesday, November 28, 2017 - 5:07pm
Tuesday, November 28, 2017 - 4:00pm
Monday, November 27, 2017 - 3:36pm
Wednesday, November 22, 2017 - 2:11pm
Wednesday, November 22, 2017 - 1:00pm
Tuesday, November 21, 2017 - 2:54pm
Monday, November 20, 2017 - 3:16pm

Pages