Taxes
  • Treasury Puts a Ribbon on the Estate Tax Reduction

    By Michael Rainey

    Wealthy families got an early Christmas gift from the Trump administration this week, as the U.S. Treasury Department issued a proposed rule that would encourage large, tax-free gifts to heirs. The...

  • Goldman Sachs Sees Sharp Economic Slowdown Ahead

    By Michael Rainey

    Goldman Sachs is sticking to its forecast of a significant economic slowdown over the next several quarters, driven in part by the waning effects from both the tax cuts and the recent increase in...

  • Obama administration proposes new limits on tax-exempt political groups

    New Tax Brackets for 2019

    By The Fiscal Times Staff

    The IRS released its inflation adjustments for the 2019 tax year this week, which include new brackets and limits on deductions and exemptions. A few highlights: The standard deduction for single...

  • Krugman: Why the Tax Cuts Fizzled

    By Michael Rainey

    A long-time critic of Republican fiscal policies, economist Paul Krugman takes on the GOP tax overhaul in Friday’s New York Times, asking, “Why Was Trump’s Tax Cut a Fizzle?” Krugman notes that the...

  • The Economy’s Coming Wile E. Coyote Moment

    By Michael Rainey

    Most economists think that the “sugar high” in the economy produced by simultaneous tax cuts and federal spending increases this year will fizzle at some in the next few quarters, at which point GDP...

Taxes Directory

Tags
Wednesday, February 21, 2018 - 5:48pm
Tuesday, February 20, 2018 - 5:35pm
Tuesday, February 20, 2018 - 5:15pm
Friday, February 16, 2018 - 3:04pm
Thursday, February 15, 2018 - 5:46pm
Wednesday, February 14, 2018 - 5:46pm
Wednesday, February 14, 2018 - 5:37pm
Wednesday, February 14, 2018 - 5:26pm
Wednesday, February 14, 2018 - 5:21pm
Wednesday, February 14, 2018 - 5:15pm
Tuesday, February 13, 2018 - 6:10pm
Friday, February 9, 2018 - 6:09pm
Friday, February 9, 2018 - 6:00pm
Thursday, February 8, 2018 - 5:49pm
Wednesday, February 7, 2018 - 6:22pm
Tuesday, February 6, 2018 - 5:56pm
Monday, February 5, 2018 - 5:45pm
Thursday, February 1, 2018 - 5:36pm
Wednesday, January 31, 2018 - 5:42pm
Wednesday, January 31, 2018 - 5:29pm
Wednesday, January 31, 2018 - 2:28pm
Wednesday, January 31, 2018 - 12:15am
Monday, January 29, 2018 - 5:47pm
Wednesday, January 24, 2018 - 5:53pm
Wednesday, January 24, 2018 - 5:39pm
Wednesday, January 24, 2018 - 3:37pm
Tuesday, January 23, 2018 - 6:19pm
Tuesday, January 23, 2018 - 6:13pm
Tuesday, January 23, 2018 - 6:01pm
Thursday, January 18, 2018 - 4:00pm
Tuesday, January 16, 2018 - 5:26pm
Thursday, January 11, 2018 - 5:34pm

Pages