Taxes
  • Treasury Puts a Ribbon on the Estate Tax Reduction

    By Michael Rainey

    Wealthy families got an early Christmas gift from the Trump administration this week, as the U.S. Treasury Department issued a proposed rule that would encourage large, tax-free gifts to heirs. The...

  • Goldman Sachs Sees Sharp Economic Slowdown Ahead

    By Michael Rainey

    Goldman Sachs is sticking to its forecast of a significant economic slowdown over the next several quarters, driven in part by the waning effects from both the tax cuts and the recent increase in...

  • Obama administration proposes new limits on tax-exempt political groups

    New Tax Brackets for 2019

    By The Fiscal Times Staff

    The IRS released its inflation adjustments for the 2019 tax year this week, which include new brackets and limits on deductions and exemptions. A few highlights: The standard deduction for single...

  • Krugman: Why the Tax Cuts Fizzled

    By Michael Rainey

    A long-time critic of Republican fiscal policies, economist Paul Krugman takes on the GOP tax overhaul in Friday’s New York Times, asking, “Why Was Trump’s Tax Cut a Fizzle?” Krugman notes that the...

  • The Economy’s Coming Wile E. Coyote Moment

    By Michael Rainey

    Most economists think that the “sugar high” in the economy produced by simultaneous tax cuts and federal spending increases this year will fizzle at some in the next few quarters, at which point GDP...

Taxes Directory

Tags
Monday, July 2, 2018 - 2:13pm
Friday, June 29, 2018 - 4:46pm
Thursday, June 28, 2018 - 5:14pm
Wednesday, June 27, 2018 - 4:43pm
Tuesday, June 26, 2018 - 6:04pm
Tuesday, June 26, 2018 - 5:55pm
Tuesday, June 26, 2018 - 5:40pm
Thursday, June 21, 2018 - 5:57pm
Friday, June 15, 2018 - 5:01pm
Thursday, June 14, 2018 - 5:44pm
Thursday, June 14, 2018 - 5:22pm
Tuesday, June 12, 2018 - 5:46pm
Wednesday, May 30, 2018 - 5:30pm
Tuesday, May 29, 2018 - 5:53pm
Tuesday, May 29, 2018 - 5:45pm
Friday, May 25, 2018 - 3:53pm
Thursday, May 24, 2018 - 6:15pm
Tuesday, May 22, 2018 - 6:00pm
Tuesday, May 22, 2018 - 6:00pm
Monday, May 21, 2018 - 5:36pm
Wednesday, May 16, 2018 - 5:32pm
Monday, May 14, 2018 - 5:38pm
Monday, May 14, 2018 - 5:31pm
Monday, May 14, 2018 - 5:30pm

Pages